Home > home, john, milestones, num yummies > Pho Ya!!!

Pho Ya!!!

[A posting by JOHN – I’m sure you can tell.  The photos are better and the copy is funnier.]

What the Pho.  Ap-Pho-tizing.  Pho King.  Fee fi Pho fum.  Okay that’s enough I’ll start already.

Since I’m on hiatus and income is short, I’ve been cooking a lot.  Home cooking saves a lot of money and for me is very challenging.  Sometimes I cry, sometimes I scream, sometimes I cheat, but in the end I’ve created something from a bunch of stuff and it’s edible.  Recently I made Pho for the first time.  Growing up, my parents made it all the time but I never bothered to learn how.  I’m an eater not a cooker, lover not a fighter, driver not a walker.  I just knew it took a long ass time and I had to skim the fat off the top of the broth.  That was my job, I was good at it.  We never had oily Pho in my house.  Never.  Instead of asking them how to make it, I looked up a recipe online.  I figure I would take a shot at it first and perfect it based on their suggestions.  Here’s how I did it.

First you have to get all your spices ready.  I used cinnamon stick, coriander seeds, fennel seeds, star anise, and cloves.  I couldn’t find any cardamom so I excluded it.  You can also get a Pho packet that has all the spices you need.  That’s easier.

Second, I started to broil the onion and ginger.  Add a little olive oil to it and put it on the top rack of the oven and watch the magic happen, it’ll take about 10-15 minutes for that magic to happen.

Third, you have to start making the stock.  I used oxtail for this.  Why did I use oxtail?  Because I like oxtail.  I am sure you can use other parts of the cow if you want. I boiled it first for 10 minutes, threw out the water, and put it back in a pot with new water.

Fourth, add the spices, onion, ginger, and beef into that pot of new water and let it simmer for about 3 hours.  You can add some sugar and fish sauce to taste.

Once it’s done, boil some Pho noodles, add mint, basil, bean sprouts, rare steak (sliced thin) and enjoy.  Add hoisin sauce and Sriracha to taste.

My first attempt at Pho wasn’t even close to how good my parents made it.  Next time I’ll probably use a few more pieces of oxtail, keep the original water, and let it simmer with the ginger and onion for a couple hours and ad the spices in the last hour.  I hope your mouths are watering now, oh it’s so good.

Categories: home, john, milestones, num yummies Tags:
  1. Kiayan
    February 3, 2010 at 3:14 +00:00

    What the Pho?

    Hope you had some Sriracha…

  2. March 16, 2010 at 3:14 +00:00

    bravo on for your first time! here’s to many more!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

