Home > home, the boos > Farming in the city

Farming in the city

Whatever made John and I think that we could grow anything is lost on me.  We are the same people who can kill succulents.  The same people who have killed every flower they ever planted in their yard.  We are the same people who gets an indoor plant taken away by my mom to be “saved” practically every time she comes by.  It’s a wonder the boos are still kickin’ it.  But then again, they are more vocal about food than the plants are.

Surprisingly, for such brown thumbs, John and I are pretty good with the veggies.  Our tomato, cucumber and eggplant plants have flourished with little more than just watering.  John thinks is the absolutely best thing to be able to grow your own veggies – you should see the accomplished look on his face when he brings in a handful of ripe red tomatoes.

The bounty of the veggie garden is not lost on the boos either.  One afternoon as I was raking up the mess of calamansi from the yard tree and plucking the dry, left-on-the-tree-too-long lemons from our tree, I saw Bradley chewing on something.  At first I though he was chewing on some grass as they are all apt to do, but I heard some crunching and saw Macy standing next to him looking intently at what he was munching on.  The bean had plucked a cucumber from the veggie garden and was having himself a snack!  It was both annoyed and amused at the same time.  Naughty, naughty boo.

I don't know anyone who likes watermelon as much as my mom than John.  This is one of our baby watermelons.  It'll be ready in about 60 days.

I don't know anyone who likes watermelon as much as my mom than John. This is one of our baby watermelons. It'll be ready in about 60 days.

Categories: home, the boos
  1. palmtreeprojection
    July 15, 2009 at 3:14 +00:00

    How lovely!
    My parents grew tomatoes when we were kids and it quickly spiraled out of control– we were giving tomatoes away in bags to everyone and anyone who would take them. Please don’t forget us when you get to that stage!

    And I also kill succulents.. so sad…

    • meechiko
      July 16, 2009 at 3:14 +00:00

      Same thing with my parents – runaway tomato plants. They’d have bucketfuls of the stuff. My mom freezes then for later use. When we start really raking it in, I’ll let you know.

  2. Kiayan
    July 16, 2009 at 3:14 +00:00

    look at you two farmers!
    what bounty you will have!

    • meechiko
      July 16, 2009 at 3:14 +00:00

      Yes, very excited. Just taking a cue from the real green thumber. Miss you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

