Home > friends, home, milestones, the boos > Bean Bear Turns 4 and Superbowl Sunday

Bean Bear Turns 4 and Superbowl Sunday

MIA – that’s me.  I’ve been out of it with the flu this past week.  Still coughing and sneezing and still suffering from a general feeling of malaise, but better overall.

While out sick, I naively thought it would be good chance for me to observe the boos’ daily conduct while we’re away at work.  I was gonna try my best to be ingonito and let them do what they do as if I wasn’t home and see what kind of shenanigans they got into.  But alas, my brilliant idea was foiled.  The boos did nothing but nap around me on the couch as I tried to rest the flu away.  I have to admit, nothing is more comforting than warm furries next to you while your head feels as if it’s about to be squished by the metal vice it’s in, so I didn’t mind too much that my planned reconoissance was a bust.

Our Bradley turned 4-years-old this past Saturday.  And as any loving parent would say “The time has flown.”  Wasn’t it only yesterday that we went to go meet this little beagle and was accosted by a frenzy of tail-wagging and sniffs?  We celebrated this birthday the same as we have the past 3 – with a yummy steak dinner.  A big juicy rib eye, grilled medium-rare by John, side of sauteed sweet corn and mashed potatoes.  He ate it with great enjoyment as he does every year.  Well at least I think…He wolfed it up so fast I don’t know if he even tasted it.

bean_4th_bday

how cute is my boo?

We also hosted our official housewarming get-together with friends and had them come over to watch the Arizona Cardinals whoop the Pittsbugh Steelers.  Ok, that didn’t happen but we had a great time anyway.  Lots of food and lots of beer and a deep-fried Twinkie or two, courtesy of a one Mr. Mike Weiss.

They didn't watch the whole game this way.  Although I'm sure it wouldn've been a lot cooler if they could.

They didn't watch the whole game this way. Although I bet you they wished they could.

Our friends, Ian and Marie who most graciously offered to help us plan our wedding reception also took a gander (and lots of measurements) of our backyard.  It was a little hard to concentrate and talk about things because while we were out there, Bradley was trying to give the brown blankie some lovin’ .  Ok, who am I kidding?  He was humping it.  He was a vertiable humping vituoso!  Not that this is the first time.  There is just something about having company that gets him worked up because he does it everytime someone is over.  Weird. It’s like show-and-tell.  Our friend Tim’s 8-month old German Shepherd Bishop got some good pointers though.  By the time they left, he too was bundling the blanket underneath himself.  He hasn’t quite gotten the idea yet because he whined, frustrated, not knowing what to do next.  Poor guy.

  1. palmtreeprojection
    February 8, 2009 at 3:14 +00:00

    Hey Michelle! I like the way you write your posts, very lively. I wish I could have eaten Bradley’s birthday meal– looks scrumptious.
    — Helen

  1. February 9, 2010 at 3:14 +00:00

Leave a Reply

