Home > home, john, num yummies, the boos > Another Fun Weekend at the Ranch

Another Fun Weekend at the Ranch

John and I ate out for the first time, in a very long time this past weekend.  At an actual restaurant.  Not out of paper or styrofoam take-out boxes, but a real bonafide restaurant, with tables and chairs and silverware!  Don’t mock the excitement.  You have to understand, we don’t do this often anymore.  What with full-time jobs, 3 fur babies, a new home, we don’t really get to go “out” anymore.  This particular excursion was to a Vietnamese restaurant, recently reviewed by the LA Times called Xanh Bistro (pronouced Sang) in Westminster.  The staff was extremely courteous and attentive and Chef and owner Haley Nguyen came out and personally welcomed us.  For starters, we ordered the Spicy Lemongrass Chicken Wings and Crispy Rice with Pork.  I’m not a big fan of lemongrass, so thankfully the marinade wasn’t overwhelming – I happily ate my share.  The Crispy Rice with Pork was awesome.  Marinated and grilled pieces of pork were scattered on top of hmmmm….asian rice crispies, and dressed with a light nuoc mam.  We also ordered the Green Papaya and Mango Salad with Shrimp, which was tangy and refereshing with perfectly grilled, perfectly bursty shrimp.  For the main course, we ordered Sauteed Lemongrass Beef – which was cooked medium and very tender –  and the Crab and Shrimp noodle bowl, which I forgot to take a photo of because I was too busy stuffing my gob.

xanh

Macy and Wednesday were up to their usual shenanigans this weekend.  I thought cats were clean animals, spending lots and lots of time grooming themselves meticulously.  What Winnie did this weekend, is additional proof that she is truly a dog in cat’s clothing.  Besides begging for food, and digging in the dirt, this cat likes to roll around in mud.

muddy_winnie1

And then Macy.  She’s a hoot.  She loves water if it doesn’t involve a bath.  Here’s John trying to water her, errrr…our scraggly lawn.

I also got to know our little lemon tree in the back.  I think, I think, I think it’s a Meyer lemon tree – yipppeeee!  The skins of the fruit are thin and they smell like meyer lemons.  I know what meyer lemons smell like because I used to have a dwarf meyer lemon tree at our old apartment.  I say “used to” because it fell victim to my brown thumb – it was either over-watered or under-watered or got too much or not enough sun.  Hmmmmmm…..  Anywho, our tree’s got tons of fruit.  I simmered a couple of them in a little saucepan of water to fill our home with the nice lemony smell.  Someday soon, when I get my baking pans out of storage (aka Mom and Dad’s garage), I will be a meyer lemon bar makin’ fool.

backyard_lemons

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

