Home > home, john, num yummies > The Crumb Stash: “Pig-hoo-oo-ey!”

The Crumb Stash: “Pig-hoo-oo-ey!”

I’ve cooked quite a few times at the new house now (Christmas being the mother of them all) and for a self-proclaimed foodie, I would like to apologize for not having posted any food-related entries as of yet.  So today is the day.  My first bonafide food post (cue the choir!).

And I’ve chosen to write about a much controversial ingredient indeed.  It is one of the most widely consumed meats in the world and is a taboo food in 2 religions.

Ahhhhh….pork.  Some people like it, and some people don’t.  I happen to love it.  Filipino crispy pata, lechon kawali and adobo, Cuban lechon asado,  Vietnamese suon kho and nem nuong , barbequed baby back ribs, Chinese char sui and lap cheong, Japanese katsu, Mexican carnitas, and all kinds of Italian cured meats, to name a few.

Below are some of me and John’s handy work with pork.  I based my adobo on Martin’s recipe for pork belly adobo and John made the sinigang all by himself, with over-the-phone instructions from me (tear* so proud).

sinigang

sinigang

adobo

adobo

Adobo

Adapted from burntlumpia.typepad.com

Serves 4.

3/4 cup apple cider or white vinegar

1 1/2 Tablespoons sea salt

1 Tablespoon soy sauce

1 teaspoon peppercorns

2 pounds pork shoulder, cut into 1-inch cubes

10 cloves garlic, smashed and peeled

3 bay leaves

Place the pork, garlic, bay leaves, vinegar, salt and peppercorns into a large heavy pot. Place the pot over high heat, bring liquid to a boil, then reduce heat, cover, and simmer for one hour.

After one hour, the pork should be tender and the sauce should have reduced a bit.  Adjust seasonings and add some water, if desired.

Serve over lots of steamed white rice.

Categories: home, john, num yummies Tags: ,
  1. tanyaregala
    June 23, 2010 at 3:14 +00:00

    Hi Michelle!

    This looks really yummy!

    I’m compiling a list of all the different ways to cook adobo in a quest to find what a true filipino adobo is today, and I’m happy to include your adobo recipe in my article at http://kumain.com/1001-adobo-recipes/. I hope you don’t mind the link from my site to yours =)

    Keep in touch!

  1. June 23, 2010 at 3:14 +00:00

Leave a Reply

