Home > family, the boos > Meet the boos

Meet the boos

I have a slight fascination with our dogs.  OK, more than slight fascination, it’s a full-on obsession.  I love, love, love our dogs.  Love them like I birthed them myself.  Look at them.  I mean seriously – how could you not?

This is one of my many favorite pictures of Bradley and Macy.  John is a great photographer and I still can'e believe he was able to capture this.  i wonder how long he waitied, camera in hand, for them to pose?

This is one of my many favorite pictures of Bradley and Macy. John is a great photographer

Besides being covered in fur and walking on all fours, both seem to believe that they are indeed human children, and therefore entitled to all human-like things “other kids” experience.  Some of our friends say the dogs eat better than they do.  Birthdays are “steak and cake” days – daddy makes them a nice and juicy medium-rare rib eye and mama bakes them a carob cake.  On the other 364, they nosh on raw beef, chicken and turkey, with veggies, of course and free range chewies.  They’ve vacationed at Lake Tahoe, Mammoth Mountain and San Diego and stay at the Sheraton Hotel.

Since we’ve adopted them, I’ve found that I suffer from some sort of undiscovered malady that involves compulsive shopping for all manners of doggie accoutrement.  But I contend that dogs need coats and argyle sweaters and life vests and boots too.  Would you want to walk in the snow barefoot?  I know they appreciate it even though they give me that stank eye when I dress them in their Halloween costumes.

It won’t be an exaggeration to say that my parents think of them as pseudo-grand babies.  Bradley especially, seems to occupy a special place in my mom’s heart.  I know she sneaks them granola bars and cheese and whatever else they deem doggie-appropriate, whenever we leave the dogs with them for the day.  My dad even told me once that he fed Bradley pancakes!  In his defense, he argued that he served the pancakes sans butter and maple syrup.

Even though they are naughty, loud, little buggers who won’t let me sleep at night because they want in and out from under the covers all the time, I heart them to pieces.  After a long, arduous day at work, nothing is better than coming home to a frenzy of tail-wagging and doggie kisses.  When I am reincarnated, I hope I’ve been good enough in this life to come back as a dog with a loving family.

Categories: family, the boos Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

